top of page
Search
  • mkim673

January Reflection

Updated: Jan 13, 2022

During the month of January, I have been trying to keep track of my timeline that I wrote in the beginning of the school year. I did not get to gather the information about the GDPs, since my interviews and liaison meeting was delayed about a month.


In January, I had my first meeting with my liaison, and he gave me a great idea and information about historical aspects on the negative association with the immigrants and refugees. I have posted a post about Nativitism for this month, and I have learned a lot about why people tend to think immigrants and refugees bring a negative impact on the U.S economy.


I have also got a chance to ask a few questions to my Business and Economics teacher. She explained her own experience of coming from an Irish immigrant family, and how her parents and grandparents had struggled with the negative associations. She also answered some questions in detail, giving me an explanation of how refugees and immigrants bring benefits to the U.S economy. She stated that compared to all the hard work and benefit that they bring to the United States, they are not treated or paid well.


When I heard all the hardships that immigrants and refugees go through, I wished a lot of people could experience the economic hardships that they go through. By experiencing what they experience through making tough choices economically, will help people understand them. Hopefully people will realize that they do not cause a bad impact in the U.S economy, but they actually add labor forces to the U.S which helps us get the fruits and all the manufactured items at a reasonable price. I found a game called SPENT on the internet. It is a game that you have to make a series of economic choices with only $1000 per month.


Play SPENT


I have tried to survive a few months with a series of tough economic decisions that I did not know or I wasn’t aware about, and it made me feel angry, frustrated, and hopeless. I hope when people play this game, they will understand their hardships and that the refugees and immigrants are a beneficial addition to the U.S economy, and hopefully will not associate them negatively.







6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page