top of page
Search
  • mkim673

First step to Emma's Financial Literacy Curriculum

This month, I had a meeting with Mr. LaFave, Emma’s math instructor who would be teaching financial literacy class in the spring of 2023 at Emma.

I first introduced myself, then talked a bit about how I got interested in teaching financial literacy class. I told him, “My freshmen year, I was choosing courses with my friend for sophomore year, and you know how we had to include health class into one of the semesters because it was mandatory for us to take it. So my friend and I said, it would be really nice if the school taught us about credits, tax, and student loans before we graduate, and make it a mandatory course, so we don’t feel like we are thrown out into the real world. We would have no idea about anything, and I don’t want to feel like I don’t know anything.” Of course, he totally agreed. He said the amount of things he needed to learn by himself were a lot thinking back.

He first introduced the books he would be working with to me. Then we went to talk about the overall lesson plan of this semester-long financial literacy course. There were units that I have included in my lesson plan, as well as some new units that I have never thought of such as insurance, real estate investment, and entrepreneurship. Of course, there were units including investment, college, retirement, and credits. It was interesting because we also talked about how the first lesson should be about careers and their pay range. I wondered why, but it was a wonderful, thoughtful idea of his. That it is important to do what you love, do what you are passionate about, but money is also very important when it comes to reality, so students should also be open about every opportunity.

After we went over who would be a guest speaker for each unit to bring more insight to the subject, we talked about how I could contribute by giving back a few notes on what topics should be taught, and what sub-topics should be included in each unit.

Then I talked about my experience of being involved with financial literacy classes, such as interning with High Water Women. Having my own Depop, reselling application where I sold my beaded necklace over the summer, and my experience with budgeting, accounting profits for my club, Beads for Good Deeds.

He suggested a great idea, and asked me if I would be willing to be a guest speaker in his financial literacy class next spring. I said I would love to as an Emma aluma, so I am very excited to put this curriculum together and see where this takes the class, and it’s contribution to Emma, and Emma students.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November Progress Report

During the month of November, I focused on my second lesson for financial literacy class. I wanted to embrace the responsibilities that each customer has - so I chose the topic of: Money Matters. Mone

bottom of page