top of page
Search
  • mkim673

November Progress Report

During the month of November, I focused on my second lesson for financial literacy class. I wanted to embrace the responsibilities that each customer has - so I chose the topic of: Money Matters.


Money Matters included three main ideas that everyone should be alert of.

  1. Purchasing strategies

  2. Wants vs. Needs

  3. Financially Responsible

I thought second lesson had to be somewhat related to the medium of exchange: money.


It took me a while to understand the significance of money. I wanted other students to understand the significance as well. Even if we, as customers, are purchasing goods that costs a dollar, before you purchase it, you should be able to distinguish the difference between the wants and needs. It is a very good habit to always go through purchasing strategies, asking yourself if the good or service is necessary to you, or gives you happiness in short or long term.


By repeating these process as a customer, as high school students become financially independent, they will be a smart consumer, not purchasing items that they can't afford - such as luxury goods.


As social media flourishes, individual's definition of their living standard has been affected a lot, even for me. I want students to acknowledge that not everybody can have the living standards of others. In other words, you don't have to have what others have if you know you will financially struggle after purchasing that good or services.


I hope that all of you will be a smart customer in this world!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

First step to Emma's Financial Literacy Curriculum

This month, I had a meeting with Mr. LaFave, Emma’s math instructor who would be teaching financial literacy class in the spring of 2023 at Emma. I first introduced myself, then talked a bit about how

bottom of page